Mulberry Leaf Tea Part 3 – Fresh vs Dried

Mulberry tea series : Part 1 – Fresh, Part 2 – Dried, Part 3 – Fresh vs Dried

Now that I have tried both versions of mulberry tea, it is time to make a comparison.

Mulberry tea – fresh vs dried

1. Both fresh and dried versions were very nice to drink.

2. Fresh version is greener in colour while the dried version is paler and yellow.

3. The fresh version has a stronger grassy aroma that is almost medicinal. I can imagine that it may not go down well with some people. The dried version has an earthier delicate aroma. If you dislike raw green smell, the dried version is probably better.

4. I find the fresh version has stronger body. The dried version could be mistaken for normal Chinese green tea.

5. Boiling fresh leaves for a few minutes is easier and faster, for a single cup. I consider it the direct shortcut.

6. But for the long term, I prefer the indirect shortcut. It may take a few days to dry the leaves. But once done, it only takes a few seconds to just add hot water to the leaves for many many cups regardless of when and where you want to have cuppa. Pouring tea from a pretty teapot is also more presentable to guests than a pot!

7. Dried leaves in a nice glass jar or tea-caddy would make a nice gift.

 

3 Comments »

  1. Mimi said

    I’m glad to see that you’re alive and well.

    This might be really random and out of the blue, but have you completely given up on fanfiction and Prince of Tennis? I’m a huge fan of your story, Adventures of Young Tezuka Kunimitsu. To me, it’s one of the best stories in the fandom so it’d be a shame if you’ve given up on it but I still wonder if you have any plans of continuing the story or if you’d consider letting someone else take over the story.

    Anyway, that’s all I came here to say. Have a nice day!

    P.S. Mulberry tea looks interesting. I might try it if I ever see it at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s.

    • cohlinn said

      Thanks! I have not abandoned the story yet, I still have unpublished future chapters. I just have some distractions from real life, another WIP story and some problems with next chapter.

      I do not have plans for anyone to take over the story for now, but I’ll be happy for anyone to write anything based on AYoTK, or any of my FF stories. Hmm … now that I think about it … Why should I mind? I’m writing FF based on someone else’s work. I’d be flattered for anyone to do the same with mine.

  2. twhite48 said

    Heat in processing and preparation brings out bitterness and with some herbs loses desirable volatile oils and fresh flavors. An alternative preservation method is put the loose herb leaves in the freezer spread out for a day or two then pack them into a bag.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

